Two New Food Favorites and a Shout Out

Last night I finally tried a recipe I’ve been wanting to try since I saw it on Beth’s page over at Beth’s Journey to Thin. She made these Spinach and Artichoke Lasagna Bundles that looked so cute and tasty!

Since I avoid making lasagna because it can be so high calorie, I thought these neatly portioned little bundles would be perfect!

The only thing I altered from her recipe was that I used half a noodle for each bundle so that I was still getting the yummy filling without as much pasta noodle per serving.

(I did whole noodles for my hubs, though! He likes a lot of food!)

The recipe is on her page, but basically all I did was roll a spinach, artichoke heart, part-skim ricotta, garlic mixture up inside a whole wheat lasagna noodle. Tie it with a green onion string, top with marinara and mozz cheese and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes.

These are the bundles once I assembled them. You can tell the difference between the whole noodles because they do look a lot bigger, but my half-sies were very satisfying, I promise. Don’t the green onion ties make them look so fancy?? haha

Once they were put together, I added some sauce and light mozzarella cheese:

and they were ready to go into the oven!

If you can tell in the photo, I also tried using a little dollop of Classico Light Alfredo sauce on the two small ones on the bottom instead of the marinara.

When I first make a recipe, I like to try out a bunch of different varieties within one recipe to see how I like it best. I also rolled the bundles differently. Some I put the filling on one end and rolled it up. On others I spread the filling along the whole noodle. I thought maybe it would taste better to have the filling throughout the noodle.

They spent 20 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees and voila:

Delicious, gooey goodness!

I gave my husband 2 whole noodle bundles

and I took 3 of the half noodles.

My hubs did end up going back for a third whole noodle bundle so bigger appetites may want a little bit more than just the 2.

Our verdict:

I loved them. They totally fulfilled my lasagna craving without being loaded up with fat and calories. Plus, I was able to work two yummy veggies in to a lasagna type dish (my normal lasagna is just meat, noodles, sauce, and cheeses!!).

My husband…not so much. He pretty much hates whole wheat pasta. He likes the Ronzoni Smart Taste pasta in the purple box:

It tastes like regular pasta but has the nutrition (high in protein and fiber) of the whole wheat pastas.

I used the Ronzoni Healthy Harvest whole wheat lasagna noodles seen here:

because they don’t make the lasagna noodles in the Smart Taste yet (or at least that I have seen).

Joe hates the taste of the whole wheat because of the texture. He liked the overall meal, but would prefer I not use those kinds of noodles again. :)

We also determined at the end that how it was rolled really made no difference in taste. Next time, I will just put the filling at the end in one big blob and roll it because it was easier and tasted just as good.

I did also really prefer the marinara sauce over the light alfredo sauce, which surprised me.

All in all, we give the recipe a thumbs up!

My other new treat I’m making in the morning is this Peanut Butter and Banana Oatmeal.

I mix 1/4 cup of old fashioned oats with 1/2 cup water and heat it in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes (with a dash of salt).

Once I cook the oats, I add 15 grams of the Trader Joe’s peanut flour,

dice up two ounces of banana, sweeten it with some splenda and it’s done!

Peanut butter and banana oatmeal is so good and really filling…and only 180 calories. I like to shoot for around 250 calories for breakfast so I like that this one leaves me some room to have a snack as well if I feel hungry mid morning.

**********

Unfortunately I have a bit of a cold this week and I haven’t been sleeping well so I took yesterday off in terms of working out. Today I am skipping the weights workout I am supposed to do and I am just going to do the 4 mile run. I actually want to run, even though I don’t feel so hot, which is such a good feeling.

We’ll see how I feel after I’m done!

***********

Oh! And I have to include a shout out to my husband, Joe, who was so inspired that I actually ran over 8.5 miles this weekend, that he decided to finally attempt a personal goal he has had for awhile now. It took him an hour and 10 minutes, but on Sunday he did 1000 pushups!!!

1000!

I’m impressed when I can do 15.

It would take me literally 1 month to do 1000 pushups and he did it in an hour and 10 minutes. Unbelievable.

I am so proud of him…and so glad that we continue to push each other.

He is so incredible and is super supportive of me. He loves the weight I’ve lost lately and tells me all the time how much more toned I’m looking (which of course every wife wants to hear), but the great thing about him is that he was just as loving and sweet when I was 45 pounds heavier carrying my baby. Or 25 pounds heavier for 4 months after I gave birth. Or when I’m in pajamas with crazy hair and smudged makeup first thing in the morning.

You get the idea.

I am on this journey for myself, but having a handsome husband give me unconditional love and support is the icing on the cake.

1 Comment

Filed under Dieting, Exercising, Uncategorized

One response to “Two New Food Favorites and a Shout Out

  1. Those lasagna roll-ups are genius! I don’t even like lasagna that much, but those look AMAZING!! I think I’ll give them a try this weekend, they look perfect for Sunday dinner.

Leave a Reply

