Amy versus the Banana Bread Muffins

Currently they are in the oven.

Typically this would mean I was preparing to binge.

But not today.

I don’t feel it.

I don’t know if it is a leftover high from my run yesterday.

I don’t know if it is because I have logged and stayed within my calories everyday for the last 2 weeks.

I’m not sure what it is, but I know that…

I

FEEL

STRONG!

I should probably back up and explain something here.

I love to bake. I love batter. I love dough. I love cookies, cakes, muffins…you name it.

Anything that goes in and out of an oven is a friend of mine.

Or an enemy as the case may be.

Usually, my MO is that I bake when I am in the mood to overindulge and really binge. Sometimes I do it when I am at a low…but lots of times I do it when I am at a high. And I “test” myself. And always fail. I don’t go into it thinking or saying that I am going to splurge. But somewhere deep in the back of my mind, I know it. And it happens everytime.

And once I start, I can’t stop…I’m like that with just about everything…as evidenced:

here.

But this time feels different.

I actually think I am making these banana bread muffins because they will be a semi-healthy snack to have.

I chose the healthiest ingredients.

I counted out the calories for each carefully measured component.

I intend to have one with a mug of hot cocoa today (its cold and rainy here again – ugh) and wrap and freeze the rest.

I sometimes write this blog hoping that my story will inspire others and I’ll get millions of readers who want to hear what I have to say.

Other times, it is just for me. An outlet. A way for me to write my thoughts about where I am in my own journey. And a place for me to remind myself that I just may be stronger than I think I am.

Today is one of those days.

 

The timer just went off…here we go.

Bring it on banana bread.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dieting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

