New Purchases

Some things I have bought lately:
Purchase #1:

My new water pack for running.

This is the Camelbak Delaney Plus Waistpack (is that a nice way of not calling it a FANNY pack?? Yikes!)

I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. I went for a practice run with it today and I felt like I was fidgeting with it constantly, but the jury is still out on whether I plan to continue running with it. I did like having access to water while I ran and not having to wear an arm band for my iphone/ipod.

Purchase #2:

After listening to numerous bloggers say these were their energy supplements of choice, I decided to try these out, too. I LOVE the sport beans because I love jelly beans…makes sense right? I only went for a 3 mile run today so trying them out today was just to test how easy it was for me to get them out of my my “waist pack.

That and if I am coordinated enough to chew and run at the same time. 🙂

I have yet to try to Gu energy gel, but I’m excited because reviews say it tastes like frosting!

Since I’ve been known to make cakes or cupcakes because I was really craving the frosting (or during some really out of control times, buy a small tub and eat it out of the container with a spoon…I mean who has time to wait for an oven to heat up?), I figured this was one I had to try.

Purchase #3:

Yes 🙂

My husband (hubs shout out! what up!) did stop and pick up 6 packages of peanut flour from Trader Joe’s last night to “surprise” me.

(I guess you could call it a surprise, if by “surprise” you mean after he got home from work, I annoyingly quizzed him about whether he’d read my blog that day AND about whether he’d clicked on the link I’d posted where the blogger’s boyfriend had gone to TJ’s and bought out their supply of peanut flour for her AND asked him point blank whether he had done that for me on his way home. If you’re thinking that yes, he did, you’d be wrong. haha. But he was a big sweetheart and did go back out after dinner to pick up my running gear for me later that night and surprised me with 6 packs of peanut flour when he came back!! Score!)

This should last us til summer!

Purchase #4:

SOAR Fear of Flying DVDs

So in addition to trying to conquer my issues regarding food, diet, exercise and healthy living in general, I am always looking for ways I can improve upon my other flaws.

One major flaw I have is dealing with some serious anxiety when I fly.

I love going home to NY to visit my family, but I dread the flight.

I love going on a relaxing vacation, but I dread the flight.

I love exploring new places with my husband, but I dread the flight.

I’m fairly good at putting it out of my head when I don’t have any impending flights, but the weeks leading up to one, I turn into a wreck.

Not wanting to pass this irrational fear on to my daughter (surprise – my mom and sis are both afraid to fly, too!), I want to find a way to break the cycle with her. Plus I don’t want it to get worse and end up preventing me or my family from enjoying things in life that require a plane trip.

These DVDs are ridiculously expensive (I won’t go into how much – you can easily google it if you are interested. I’m somewhat embarrassed at how much I just paid), but the program is based on the psychology behind the fear.

I figure this is like my therapy.

Going to a therapist can cost hundreds of dollars, but can be worth every penny if you find the right one.

If I have to pay this much, but it helps me to deal with my fear, then the cost won’t matter.

Plus, if I’m not satisfied that it helped me, I get all my money back.

Sold.

It is a former airline and military pilot turned psychologist and another psychologist who created the program.

I’ve watched the first and second out of 11 DVDs and so far they are right on the money, describing how I feel and what I think when I fly to a T.

I actually find it hard to believe that if I paid to see a therapist, that she’d be any where near as well versed in this specific type of anxiety as these 2 are.

As you can see, I’m full of hope at this point.

I plan on doing another update as I get closer to my flight in a few weeks, though.

So those are my big scores of the week. Exciting stuff, huh?
********

One meal I have to share:

Egg white tostada with black beans, green salsa, tomatoes, and onion.

Topped with a little reduced fat cheddar.

(Ignore the bite out of the tortilla on the right side…when I crisped the tortilla in the pan, I got a little too eager and stole just one bite! haha)

It was unbelievably yummy and only 210 calories! You can’t get a better bang for your buck.

Volume (which I love) + great taste + low in calories + good-for-you health benefits.

2 Comments

Filed under Dieting, Exercising, Fears, Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Purchases

  1. Patty

    http://www.localharvest.org/peanut-flour-C14227?r=fr

    I found some peanut flour for you 🙂 they said it is the actual product that Trader Joe’s sells in their store-just different packaging… i am intrigued by how delicious it looks so will be trying some myself! Have a great night!

    • amybart

      Yay! Thank you! Ooh, now I am excited! I use it for so many things, I would be so sad if I couldn’t use it anymore!

Leave a Reply

