Ups and Downs

This weekend was full of some really great moments and some not so great moments for me.

First not so great moment:
Nutella.

I made fried nutella wontons with homemade whipped cream on Saturday when we had friends over.

Yup. You can only imagine.

The downside: Let’s just say that it was the first day in almost 4 weeks that I went over my calories on MyFitnessPal. Boo.

The upside: They were delicious and I enjoyed every bite…plus I didn’t let it destroy my weekend.

Can you believe they actually try to pass Nutella off as part of a nutritious breakfast?

“a glass of skim milk, orange juice and Nutella on whole wheat bread”

as an example of a tasty yet balanced breakfast. haha

That made me laugh. It is a healthy breakfast in spite of the Nutella.

Moving on.

*********

Terrible moment of the weekend:

That’s right. We lost our cat.

Our blind, 8 pound, 10 year old cat with no eyes.

Who has never been outside before and would have no way of finding her way back again.

Actually I lost her.

She must have snuck out when I briefly went out on our patio yesterday morning. We didn’t even know she was missing until about noon.

I frantically made these posters and my husband went around and put them around our apartment complex, hoping and praying someone would have seen her.

The downside: We had a traumatic couple of hours where we were sure we had lost our sweet little baby cat.

The upside: A cat lady living in our complex actually found her at 7am sitting in the middle of the road and called to her. Squints ran right to her, she picked her up, brought her to her apartment (where she is currently housing many abandoned cats) gave her food and water, trimmed her nails (what is this – a day spa? Our cats haven’t had their nails trimmed in years!) and called us as soon as she saw our poster.

Home safe and sound:

How cute is she???

It was a close call and a real lesson to us about how careful we need to be with our doors since we apparently have an escape artist.

I joke about it now, but we were truly devastated at the time, thinking we had lost her forever.

My husband said my face was priceless when he walked in the door with her!
Yay for happy endings!

*********

Great moment of this weekend:

That’s right, folks. I did it.

I ran ten and a half miles yesterday!

We actually were only supposed to do 10, but we weren’t back to our cars when we hit the 10 mile mark so we kept going (up a steep hill I might add!).

We did it in 2 hours, but that does include stopping and waiting at numerous stoplights along the way so I think our time should really be a little bit better than that.

It was mentally a tough run and I definitely hit the wall going up a huge hill around mile 6, struggling with every step.

But at the top, I caught up to two other Fit Mama’s waiting at the stoplight and ran the last 3 1/2 miles with them which made it go by very quickly!

The longest distance I have ever run in my life was 9.3 miles when I did the Boilermaker 10 years ago…so this was over a mile beyond my furthest run!

Physically and mentally, I felt GREAT all day yesterday.

The half marathon is less than 4 weeks away.

After yesterday’s run…I KNOW I can finish.

*********

My husband shared a quote with me yesterday that I feel really hits home and makes me want to continue taking charge of my life:

“Life isn’t happening to you; life is responding to you.”

You can choose to accept where you are in life

or you can choose to determine for yourself where you are.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Dieting, Exercising

3 responses to “Ups and Downs

  1. Ah, nutella. So tasty. So dangerous ;o)

  2. Your cat is SOOOO adorable, so glad you found her! I can’t even imagine the hurt you must have been feeling thinking you had lost her forever : (
    Great job on the 10.5 miles! high five! : )

Leave a Reply

