Wrap Up – A week Away

It is hard to get caught up with blogging when you have been away for over a week!

I feel like so much has been happening. I will keep the updates short and sweet, but try to cover everything!

1) I had an absolutely fabulous time on vacation. Seeing my 9 month old baby splashing in the ocean, swimming in the pool, playing with her cousins was awesome!

2) My very first half marathon is 4 days away. Yikes! More on that tomorrow.

*********

3) I did an 11.58 mile run while on vacation. That is by far my longest run to date.

I got the whole family involved (go Team Myrtle Beach!)

Everyone signed up for anywhere from 1 mile to 3 miles and took turns running with me. Most were not runners at all, or at least had not currently been running, so the fact that they laced up their sneaks and joined me was so cute!

I mapped out the run

and did the loop twice.

I really was incredibly touched that everyone got involved and the run felt amazing.

It’s kind of nice having your own cheering/running squad!

**********

4) I took on an Easter Buffet…and won!

Yup.

A BUFFET!

We went to El Torito Grill for Easter…just the three of us.

I used to want to go to buffets purely for the excuse to stuff myself until I was ready to puke

and then proceed to have one more glass of chocolate milk and an ice cream sundae.

Not this time.

This time, I approached the buffet with a plan.

 Plate #1: Fresh fruit and a yummy green salad with a mexican style vinaigrette dressing.

Okay, my husband reads this so I have to admit that there were two mini churros on there, too.

Plus a small little portion of a chef’s selection dish that I had no idea what it was.

I still wasn’t sure what it was even after I tasted it so I just picked out a couple of small pieces of chicken and left the rest.

Plate #1 = victory with a little bit of splurge thrown in (those churros were so good!)

Plate #2: one tostada shell, 1/4 cup refried beans, 2 small pieces of chicken with mole sauce and a dollop of sour cream

(yes, I went to a Mexican brunch buffet for Easter…it was different, but yummy. And I was not about to cook an Easter dinner after flying across the country from vacation!)

It was a very small portion. Plus I bypassed all of the rice, cornbread, etc. which in the past I would have filled my plate with.

Plate #2 = victory…delicious victory

Plate #3: oh wait…there was no plate #3!

I stopped at 2! Impossible to believe at an endless buffet, but it is in fact true.

Well, my husband did go back for a dessert plate, so I must admit that I did sneak a third churro haha. They were small!

Overall, I was very proud of myself.

I felt like I filled up on the stuff that was good for me and had a small, normal person size portion of the mexican food.

With a little churros splurge. =)

It was Easter, so I figured I would have normally had a dessert of some type so the churros were ok. I also think it is ok to have something like that if you really truly enjoy the taste and they are worth every calorie.

So often in the past, I have “splurged” on something that I didn’t even like the taste of!

***********

5) I lost 4 pounds last week

while

on

vacation.

I couldn’t believe it either.

…especially since I told my husband I wasn’t going to count calories while we were away, but that I would be mindful of what I was eating.

…especially after we got big ice cream cones one night

(I got no sugar added ice cream but it tasted waaaay too yummy to be that healthy!)

…especially after we ate out at restaurants or ordered take out 6 out of 7 nights we were there.

I guess I just did what I said I was going to do.

I was mindful of what I was eating and splurged while being smart and in control.

It still blows me away that I was able to actually do it.

I figured I could maybe manage to maintain, but never expected a loss.

I’ve been on lots of vacations in my almost 32 years on this earth.

This is the first time making good choices has actually worked!

The funny thing is, I actually did better when I stopped counting the calories. I think it is because I typically check how many calories I have left at night and always try to use them up.

Not knowing how many I had consumed or had left each day made me just rely on hunger cues.

I guess I should trust myself more often!

At the very least, I feel more confident that once I get to my goal weight, I will be able to live a normal life without having to track every bite of food I put into my mouth.

**********

6) There were some minor family issues while on vacation, which I guess are to be expected when you are basically living with close family for 7 straight days and nights.

I was brought back to some old familiar feelings of insecurity and I didn’t like how it felt.

I am still having some residual negative feelings even since we’ve been home and have been pretty down, but I’m trying to be in control of my feelings and not let them affect other parts of my life.

I also realized even more how truly lucky I am to have my husband…who never, ever makes me feel insecure or bad about myself.

It definitely tested me, though, because those feelings were the ones that used to drive me to eat and self sabotage.

It was an small unpleasant reminder of the way I used to be and the challenges I used to face…

and also reminded me that those challenges can creep up at any time.

This time, though, I am more determined than ever to be prepared for those challenges.

1 Comment

Filed under Dieting, Exercising, Running, Uncategorized

One response to “Wrap Up – A week Away

  1. Wow, sounds like a great vacation — and a great indication that you really have made a lifestyle change, a permanent one. It is possible!

    I love that your family joined you (in waves) for your 12 mile run! I am secretly looking forward to being able to work out with my brother one day. He and I are not in sync — a few years ago when I was in fantastic shape he wasn’t; now I am struggling and he is a personal trainer who runs 8 or 10 miles just for fun (and he runs FAST). One day…

    And good luck on your upcoming 1/2 marathon — that is so exciting! I can’t wait to read all about it.

Leave a Reply

