Countdown to 1st Half Marathon: 2 days

Technically the countdown is less than 2 days because in exactly 44 hours, I will be waking up for the race…

and by this time on Sunday, I should be 3/4 of the way done!

Notice the word “should”.

Now for the record, I am confident that I can run 13.1 miles.

If there were no other factors coming into play.

However, the past couple of weeks, I have had numerous injuries creeping up out of nowhere.

First it was my knee bothering me

(I just pushed through that one and ignored it because it was not a huge bother while I was running…although I did buy arch supports for my running sneakers due to my ridiculously high arches)

then my left calf felt like it had a pull

(my physical therapist/trainer friend worked on that muscle for me, plus I bought a foam roller so I’ve been foam rolling and stretching like crazy!)

and now out of the blue, 2 days before the race,

I have a problem with my right calf.

Just when I get one injury resolved, another challenge presents itself.

My pace has been getting better and better as I’ve trained and I’ve even had some runs where I’ve run between

9 and 10 minute miles

(as opposed to always being 10+).

I’m just feeling really bummed out that I can’t push myself as hard as I want to on race day.

Last night’s run was really great.

I took the first two miles pretty easy to see how my left calf would hold up.

Then I hit the point of my run where I had a mile and a half long hill…yup, it is killer.

But it is one of those hills where, when you get to the top, you feel like the strongest person in the world!

Believe it or not, that was the best part of my run!

I felt amazing so I really pushed it and had my fastest pace of the run on that hilly section.

I was super happy and feeling so relaxed about the race since my left calf wasn’t bothering me at all.

As I was nearing the end of my 6 mile run, I began to feel a soreness/pull in my right calf.

What? It is my left calf I am supposed to be worried about. What the heck is happening here?

I stopped for a minute while I was running (which I never like to do) and actually took the time to stretch the muscle before continuing on.

It did not help.
I ran another couple of minutes and then stopped again to stretch.

Same result.

I was close to 6 miles, so I decided I would jog slowly to finish the 6 and then walk the rest of the way home.

I couldn’t believe I had encountered another injury!

I was super crabby when I got home and feeling really down.

My husband is so incredibly supportive…and he told me how proud of me he was for running so much further than I’d planned

(originally I had set out to only do 3 miles last night, not sure how my left calf would hold up).

He even went and picked up a healthy dinner from Subway for us since I was starving by the time I finished my run:

Don’t worry…this wasn’t all for me! This was for both of us to split! It was super yummy though!

As we ate, we talked…

and Joe reminded me that I’ve changed my goal since the beginning of the training.

At the start of my training, my goal for May 1st was purely completion.

But for the last couple of weeks, my expectations have increased to where I wanted to finish in under 2 hours and 30 minutes

and I would be really proud of myself if I could finish in under 2 hours and 20 minutes.

However, today, my goal is back to being purely completion.

I’m legitimately scared that I won’t be able to finish because of an injury.

I know I can just walk if that happens, but I will be so disappointed.

My husband also keeps reminding me that it is not really about the race.

The race is just one day…a couple of hours.

The hard part,

the part that I should be proud of,

has been the days and weeks of training…

that have led up to this one day.

I know he is right.

But…

when you have a goal, it is tough to think you might not be able to see it through.

I know I sound defeated…

and I am.

Just gonna hope for the best.

8 Comments

Filed under Exercising, Running

8 responses to “Countdown to 1st Half Marathon: 2 days

  1. Your hubby is a smart man! The race is fantastic, and I know you’ll do well, but the most important part is all the training you’ve completed, and the fitness you’ve gained!
    Good luck!
    🙂

    • amybart

      Thanks! I really am excited for the race itself and praying that the injuries don’t act up. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. You’re so right that about both, it’s really about the training and despite that truth it’s hard to have something get in between you and your goals.

    I’m so sorry that you’ve been having such a hard time with your injuries. I’m running a half on Sunday and I had a strained achilles earlier this week. I think it can sometimes happen leading up to a big race because you’ve hit the peak of your training intensity and distance. Also, because you’re excited, your body can tense up.

    Obviously it’s hard to avoid these factors. Just remember it really is about the training and the experience and that there will be other races if you don’t happen to reach your time goal this time.

    You’re going to do an awesome job no matter what time you get. You’re amazing for even getting to the start line. 🙂 I look forward to reading your recap!

    • amybart

      That’s interesting about the body being tense because of the race approaching…I had never thought of that! And you’re right…the injuries definitely started on the weeks I did my two longest runs (though interestingly, not on the long runs themselves). I went for a long walk today (something I used to do a lot in the beginning of my training but not so much anymore) and it made me feel a lot more stretched out and less tight. I wonder if maybe the walking I used to do everyday was a good way to work those muscles without putting a lot of strain on them…and maybe I should have kept it up more even when the training got more rigorous? Just thinking out loud…haha. Thanks so much for reading!!

  3. pawsitivelife

    Its not about the time its about being able to say that you did it. In my opinion running is 98% mental, a good attitude is going to get you through. I will think about you tomorrow (your race DAY)

    • amybart

      Thanks!! I definitely agree about running being mostly mental…I appreciate your positive thoughts!!

  4. I hope that you get to finish the race injury free! I know how fearful and frustrating it can be to not get to do what you are “ready” to do!

Leave a Reply

