Spoiled Sweet

Yesterday happened to be my birthday…32 years and counting.

Luckily I don’t feel old yet so I don’t mind birthdays. I still consider them fun. πŸ™‚

Well maybe that is because I am spoiled.

Although I’d like to believe I’m not rotten, just loved…haha.

Two days ago, I received this as an early birthday present from my mom.

Sweet. Totally wanted one and I’m already hooked. Just downloaded my first book (Hillebrand’s Unbroken – awesome so far!)

Then the night before my birthday, (he can never wait until the actual day, he gets too excited haha)

my hubs totally surprised me with this:
This is a 2011 B.O.B. Revolution…it is like the Rolls Royce of jogging strollers (in my husband’s words).

Up til now, we’ve had a $100 dollar “jogger” (I use the term loosely) from Target that was almost impossible for me to run with and at the very best just unenjoyable. When I would go for walks with my moms group, I was infamous for using my Graco snap ‘n go and all I ever heard was how I had to get a B.O.B.

Sure, ok. We’ll get right on that.

They’re only ____ hundreds of dollars.

I should point out that my husband and I tend to be rather frugalΒ for lack of a nicer word.

Cheap.

For him to splurge on this incredible stroller for my birthday is a VERY BIG DEAL.

Β And a sure sign that he takes my running (and his new ‘like’ of running) pretty seriously…which is pretty cool.

He also gave me these to unwrap first thing yesterday morning:

New running clothes!

I have really needed some new running clothes and particularly capris pants. I won’t wear shorts, but the full length pants have started to feel insanely hot lately (it’s been in the high 80’s!). So hot that I even got out my scissors and cut a full length pair the other day to get by…so I was super excited to have an actual nice pair of running capris finally!

Plus my mom and dad surprised me by sending another amazing gift yesterday:

My new Garmin Forerunner 305!!!

I could not believe that she

(I was gonna say ‘they’ but let’s be real, my mom picks everything out)

got me both the Kindle and the Garmin…it is way too generous…I called her right away to thank her

over and over and over again.

I was so excited that I took my new B.O.B. and my sweet girl out for a run first thing yesterday morning Β πŸ™‚

so I could have a few extra calories last night!

Totally bucking tradition (which usually consisted of some type of fat and calorie laden comfort food meal plus a huge cake or cupcakes for dessert), I chose to go out for sushi.

It was still a treat because I normally just get the super healthy rolls…so I figured I would live on the edge since it was a special day…still no sashimi though.

We had:

Albacore Roll

Baked Spicy Lobster roll

And Popcorn Lobster Roll

So I am totally aware that these are not healthy rolls haha…as you can tell by the picture. Although I did try to pick a lot of the topping off of them (I’d get just a little of the saucy goodness) and eat just the roll. Underneath it was basically a spicy tuna roll, which is a healthier option when you go for sushi.

Plus, we ordered 24 rolls altogether to split and we each only had 8 total. We had half of the popcorn lobster and baked lobster rolls to bring home for Joe’s lunch today.

So it was a splurge, but not like having an enormous helping of spaghetti and meatballs or chicken and biscuits like I’m used to.

Dessert…

Well that is another story. haha

I did want my birthday cupcake.

My favorite place was too far of a drive with a baby up past her bedtime so we went here instead.

I decided picking out one single serving dessert was better than having a whole birthday cake.

After staring through the glass cases for awhile, Joe settled upon the chocolate cake and I chose the red velvet cupcake:

Then we went to pay and saw this by the counter:

Β It was as big as his hand!

And I displayed very little self control as my impulse buy turned into this:


I would have been okay with splurging with a cookie and half a birthday cupcake

(although definitely going over what I had planned on having for the night)….

but then my friends came over and surprised me with

HOMEMADE ICE CREAM!

(it was made with a new ice cream maker they got…cookies and cream…fudge covered oreos were one of the ingredients…enough said.)

It was the most delicious ice cream I have ever had.

And with the help of my handsome hubs, we ate

every

last

bite.

Oops.

Oh well.

It was worth every calorie.

And although I don’t want to get into the thinking of, “It’s ok because it is a special occassion”

I do think it is ok because I rarely splurge like that ever anymore.

And I didn’t make a day of it…bingeing at breakfast, lunch and dinner like normal.

I made healthy choices all day.

Just had a tad too much dessert.

So no guilt today.

Just back to my normal healthy lifestyle.

Like I said, I am super spoiled.

But…
I am super appreciative!

I had the best day!!!

16 Comments

Filed under Exercising, Friends, Running, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Spoiled Sweet

  1. Happy Birthday yesterday πŸ™‚ Your recap, pictures and gifts shows that you had a fabulous birthday, and don’t worry about splurging, this special occasion only comes around one day per year after all πŸ™‚
    You are going to love your new Kindle. I received from my dad for my last birthday and honestly read from it everyday! It’s so light so it’s easy to carry around and I whip it out whenever I can. Sushi is a favorite dinner of mine too, and that first roll you ordered sounds unbelievable πŸ˜€

    • amybart

      Thanks, Tessa! Glad you like your kindle…I’m loving it so far! And the first roll was the best one!! It was so delicious that it was the only one we finished!! haha

  2. Glad you had a great birthday!!! Happy 32nd year ;o)

  3. Joe Bart

    It’s a 2011 B.O.B. Revolution “SE”…no thank you necessary for the correction.

  4. ohhh happy birthday! πŸ™‚

    You are so right that birthdays are meant to be enjoyed and there is no reason for guilt! I am a huge maki and cupcake fan as well so that dinner is just the way I’d like to celebrate πŸ™‚

    • amybart

      Thanks, Jenny! I totally had to go look up what “maki” was…I’m totally new to the sushi world and for awhile would only eat California rolls haha. I’ve recently branched out to other types of rolls, but I’m still sort of a newbie!!

  5. Happy birthday! Sounds like it was AMAZING! It is lovely when people surprise you with things you really love (and when they splurge a little). You got really great stuff — I love my Garmin 305. I get the feeling that I’m not using it to its full potential. I hope you let us know if you learn any nifty tricks!

    I’d say this is the start of a really great year πŸ™‚

    • amybart

      I agree Alison! The Garmin seems like there is a lot more to it than I can see at first glance. Time for me to get out the instruction manual and start learning the ropes! I’ll let ya know if I find any cool features!

  6. Yay for no guilt & new running gear πŸ™‚

  7. pawsitivelife

    Happy Birthday!!! (Belated) I love love your gift I was actually looking at them in the store yesterday (and I dont have any kids) thats how much I love em. Sounds like you had a great day

    • amybart

      haha! That’s so funny that you were checking them out! It is actually really cool, but like my new Garmin, I feel like I need to study the instruction manual to find out about all the cool features that I’m sure I’m missing!

  8. What a fun birthday celebration!! You know your a mom when you get a stroller for your birthday haha. Looks like you got some awesome gifts for yourself too!

  9. amybart

    Haha…that is so true! I got spoiled all around!

Leave a Reply

