Living Life

I’ve been taking a blogging break recently…as is evidenced by only one post in the past week.

For a few reasons.

One – I have numerous new gadgets to play with so I’ve been busy being all outdoorsy and stuff.

Okay, so I’m probably using about 1/100th of the capabilities of said gadgets since I’ve barely made it through page 1 of the user manuals on any of them, but they are all getting a lot of use nonetheless.

My goal (sooner rather than later!) is to really learn about the Garmin Forerunner 305 and report back on all its cool features. ๐Ÿ™‚

Two – I began training this week for this

yup, a triathlon.

A sprint triathlonย which consists of a 5k run, 1k ocean swim and a 25k bike ride.

Please notice the clear distinction between the words “training for” and “signed up for” a triathlon.

I have no idea if I can actually do it.

Did I mention that I don’t own a bike?

And that my birthday just passed and I got totally spoiled and there is noooo way I can afford a new bike right now?

Oh ya…and my level of preparedness for swimming

consists of a tankini with a swim skirt (you know, to hide the jiggles), no goggles, and no swim cap….

And the lack of ability to swim.

I always thought I could swim…I really did.

My parents had a pool at our house growing up. I spent my childhood in the pool. I could go with ease from one end to the other.

Well, holding my breath and swimming entirely underwater.

But anyway…

I guess in all those years, I never really LEARNED to swim. Not efficient lap-type swimming anyway.

So I’ve been practicing my swimming…(well one time so far counts right?)

I felt really bad for all the serious swimmers in the neighborhood pool at 6 am this morning who had their relaxing swim thrown off by my excessive splashing and general flailing about.

Except for the guy who yelled at me for gasping so insanely loudly for each breath AND almost entering his lane.

Okay, that didn’t really happen, but I wouldn’t have been surprised if it had.

In the spirit of positive self talk, I’ve got a lot of improving to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

Three – I’ve been spending lots of time with this beautiful little girl…who is ten months old today:

and who is such a big girl

she now eats turkey and cheese for lunch instead of

that silly jar of baby foodย that is meant for babies (not big girls):

Okay that is a little too far back…more like this:

I cannot believe 10 months has gone by so quickly!

And now that we are planning to move back to NY in a few months

and I will possibly beย (hopefully!)

working in the fall (if I can somehow manage to get a teaching job!)

ย I will no longer be able to be a stay at home mom.

Definitely sad about that fact.

Soooo…I’m blogging less and playing with my little McGee more

and trying to enjoy every little second of this life I get to live!

10 Comments

Filed under Exercising, Running

10 responses to “Living Life

  1. Aww, your daughter is so cute ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy 10 months to her <33 Time fly's when you are having fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You can do a tri if you put your mind to it! If you ever need any swimming tips or have any questions you can ask me ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great day!

    • amybart

      Thanks!! I would love some swimming tips!! My biggest problem is with breathing and the coordination involved with it.

  2. Your daughter is soooo cute!

    Good luck with the triathlon! I’ve always wanted to do one, but I’m intimidated ๐Ÿ™‚

    • amybart

      Thanks! Just for the record, I’m super ridiculously intimidated by the triathlon! There is no way I would have ever even thought about doing one if my trainer friend was not pushing me to do this. I literally have never swam a day in my life (not real swimming anyway!). But now that I’ve started, I am totally loving how hard it is and looking forward to the challenge and the thought that I can actually get better at this (I hope!) You should totally jump in too!

  3. pawsitivelife

    An ironman is my ultimate fitness goal…after I buy a bike…and learn to swim, glad we are in the same boat. A little drowning is not gonna stop me ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I totally understand wanting to spend time with your precious little one! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can only imagine how fast the time flies! Best wishes with your potential move and job hunt ๐Ÿ™‚

    How wonderful that you’re taking the leap into triathlons! I bet you can find a good used bike for a reasonable price. My husband, mom, and I all have Jamus Coda Comps which are hybrid bikes which are cheaper and more versatile than tri or road specific bikes. We wanted to be a little more aerodynamic for the tri so we simply added aero bars to the front. All of our fellow triathletes were impressed with our tricked out hybrids ๐Ÿ˜‰ There is always a reasonably priced way to get what you need ๐Ÿ™‚ Best wishes for your training and time with your little one!

  5. Yeah, that Garmin has a lot of buttons — what do they all do? ๐Ÿ™‚ Eagerly awaiting your review/thoughts!

    And congrats on your triathlon training! I have never really thought much about a tri, but I’m not really that familiar with the sprint triathlon — that actually seems fun! You’re totally going to rock it!

    • haha…I’m still not sure that I’ll actually dooooo the triathlon…but I’m definitely going to train for it and at least learn to swim ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve now used the Garmin exactly 4 times and each time I get a little better at using it. I’m still trying to figure out the software on the computer because as of right now it hasn’t come off to me as incredibly user friendly, but we’ll see. Now YOU need to sign up for a sprint triathlon, too!

Leave a Reply

