Farmers Market Virgin

I ventured out to my first farmers market yesterday and scored all of this:

for 10 bucks!!

It was 3 containers of strawberries, 2 bunches of radishes, red onion, yellow onion, green onion (ok, ok I like onions!), swiss chard, and 3 kinds of squash/zucchini and a bundle of cilantro.

I was pretty intimidated to head over with just Caleigh and myself since I felt pretty clueless…so I looked up tips for how to shop at a farmers market before I went.

Yes, I actually googled, “How to shop at a farmers market”!

You laugh, but it worked!

Some tips that I found useful and actually used:

1) Look up what produce is seasonal in your area before you go.

California is pretty good about having great produce available all the time but I did find out that most berries, the onions, radishes, zucchini, and swiss chard were all good this time of year.

2)  Look up recipes for said seasonal produce and have a plan in mind for how you will use it.

I found a sauteed swiss chard with parmesan cheese recipe as well as a radish chips recipe (though I kept calling them turnips! oops!) before I left and was happy to score some at a good price when I got there. I knew a million things I could use the strawberries for, but decided last night to make a yummy (and relatively healthy) strawberry shortcake.

3) Go towards the end of the market. You can find good deals and mark downs because the people selling don’t want to schlep their supply back with them.

I was so excited that this actually worked! I was able to get the strawberries for $1 less than they had been selling them all day!

All in all, I was very happy with my trip. I was a little bit tempted to try samples of the yummy cakes, cheeses, and nuts that they were giving out, but I’ve been trying to get back on track with counting calories again (after a brief and unscheduled hiatus) so I was strong and politely turned them down.

They did look super yummy, though!

I am definitely going to go back next week…and may even drag my husband to one with me this weekend!


4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Farmers Market Virgin

  1. I would totally Google “How to shop @ a farmers market” as well!!
    I’m glad it worked and you like the experience 😀

  2. I am so glad your first experience was a positive one! I bet you will become addicted to them now, I know I am 🙂

  3. Yey for farmer’s markets! We sadly stopped shopping at ours lately because we spent so much money. I think maybe because the market is in a ritzy area of Chicago prices are a little higher :(.

    Looks like a wonderful bunch of produce and I love your tips! 🙂

  4. pawsitivelife

    I do laugh! I love farmers markets 🙂 love your fresh take on farmers market. I have been frequentling them FOREVER, so I could use a way to spice up my trips

Leave a Reply

