Homemade Salmon Burgers

I planned on doing my typical baked salmon with brown rice and a veggie for dinner tonight…

but then I was in the waiting room at an appointment

(laser hair removal – future post on this experience will definitely be coming!)

and came across a recipe in Better Homes and Garden for salmon burgers.

It sounded a little suspect, but I read on and discovered it actually looked really good!

In the spirit of being more adventurous, I decided to throw out the boring and try something new!

When I got home, I took my 2 fillets of salmon that I had defrosted and ground them in the food processor until they were the consistency of ground beef (after removing the skin).

I couldn’t remember the recipe from the magazine so I improvised with ingredients I had on hand.

To the ground salmon, I mixed in:

  • bread crumbs
  • diced red onion
  • diced red bell pepper
  • minced garlic
  • lemon juice
  • dill seasoning and
  • salt and pepper.

I shaped them into patties…

and started to cook them over medium heat.

I cooked them for three minutes on one side and then flipped…

and cooked another two minutes on the other side.

While they were finishing up on the stove, I made a dill/garlic mayo to compliment the salmon:

The result:
Awesome!!

The salmon burgers had so much flavor and the dill mayo was a great addition.

It definitely spiced up an otherwise veeerrrrrry tiresome dinner at our little ol’ household…

and I will certainly be making them again.

Although next time, I may go with a southwestern flare…

or maybe teriyaki…

or…well, you get the idea!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Homemade Salmon Burgers

  1. This is a great recipe and I have been wanting to make salmon burgers lately! I used to have a terrible fear of eating salmon because of the fat content… now that I realize that it’s healthy fat and amazing for you, I eat salmon all of the time.
    I will let you know if I try this!

  2. I was totally the same way with not wanting to eat the fat, even though I knew it was good for me. I think that is why I have hardly any recipes using salmon! I’m definitely trying to incorporate it into my weekly meal plan more!

  3. Oh yum! I love little inspirations like magazines at appt’s ! The best recipes come from things like that 😀

  4. pawsitivelife

    I am always on the hint for salmon burgers, or salmon cake recepie. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

