What a difference a year makes – Happy Birthday Caleigh!


After being in NY for 2 1/2 weeks, Caleigh and I finally returned to California yesterday.

It was my first time flying alone with her (I had stayed longer than my husband to go to the job interview) and I was incredibly nervous

but surprisingly, it was no tougher than when Joe is with me.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t fun.

But we got through it, she and I.

Yesterday also happened to be her first birthday!

Since I woke her at 4:30 am EST and we arrived in California 10 hours later, I figured that we needed to have some fun on her birthday once we got here.

We decided to take her to a really fun petting zoo even though she was ridiculously tired (me too!).

As she screamed and cried in the car the entire way there, we started debating whether or not it had been a good idea…

but the second we got there and she laid eyes on the animals, we knew that we’d made the right choice.

SHE LOVED IT.

Those carrots are for the horsies, Caleigh!

 

on the train ride

 

Hey goat, it's good to see you. Say hi to your mother for me.

 

In the gerbil/bunny petting section.

she wanted a closer look!

There was no crying on the way home, just huge smiles and laughs!

And since we are throwing her 2 birthday parties with cake, we decided to do birthday ice cream on her real day instead:

She likes the fat free frozen yogurt, but she ended up picking out the berries and eating those instead!

My life has changed so drastically since one year ago when Caleigh came into our lives.

The moment we met...

My little bald-y at 3 months old!

 

6 months old at her baptism!

 

9 months old on vacation

And my big girl now!

This has been the best year of my life…all thanks to this incredible girl!

My husband and I are so blessed to have had this miracle become part of our lives and I can’t imagine life without her. I am amazed at the new discoveries that take place each day and I have never been more proud of anything I’ve done.

Caleigh Kristine…I love you more than words can say!

Happy first birthday!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Parenting

4 responses to “What a difference a year makes – Happy Birthday Caleigh!

  1. I definitely shed a tear reading this post! Your daughter is absolutely adorable and you and your hubby are so blessed!!

  2. happy birthday to your beautiful girl!

  3. Happy birthday to your precious girl! She is so cute!!

Leave a Reply

