So Far Behind!

Oh my gosh, I feel like I have so much to update you on!

First, my triathlon has come and gone…can you believe it??

Cause I can’t!

I feel like I was just debating whether or not to learn how to swim…

and now I am a week past completion of my very first triathlon!

I have to say that it feels very surreal since it was a goal I hadn’t ever considered even TRYING to reach…

and now I’ve actually done it!

I have to work on getting the swim and bike pictures from my friend…right now all I have are the pics from beforehand and from the run.

It was one of my proudest moments.

I can’t quite explain why…but I felt more proud after doing a sprint triathlon

(which only took me an hour and 24 minutes approximately)

than I felt after running a half marathon

(which was a task that took me 2 hours and 17 minutes!)

In addition to doing the tri last weekend,

I also moved 3,000 miles away.

Yup.

That’s all done, too!

 

Remember my fear of flying issues?

(I will be doing an update and review of the SOAR fear of flying program very soon, but let’s just say I no longer cry before I fly AND I’ve now flown twice with my daughter alone!)

Part of the program involves meeting the pilots before you fly…helps me out tremendously, but my daughter wasn’t too happy about it! haha (jk…she had just been up since 3am and had no naps in about 7 hours at this point!!!).

Anyway, after the triathlon on Saturday, my daughter and I made the 9 hour trip on Sunday from California to NY to begin our new lives.

On top of that, my hubs has had to stay in California for another 12 days longer than us, so I’ve now been without him for just over a week…which of course, stinks!

He is such an incredible pillar of support for me that sometimes it is really hard without him here to lean on.

Our new life has been busy, but awesome.

On Monday, I started a new job:

 

(Sneak peak of the classroom I’ll be taking over up above!)

School itself doesn’t start until after labor day, but I’ve spent the last week in new teacher training for the district.

It was GREAT!

I actually loved going back to work.

I missed my daughter of course, but knowing she was being watched by my mom and my sister made it soo much easier!

I can’t wait to start actually teaching in a couple of weeks.

I love kindergarten!

We will be moving into my grandfather’s house for the time being (he has been living with my parents for 2 1/2 years since my Nanny died)…

but, the house is FULL of their lives.

Chock full.

No one has been ready to take on the task of going through everything and sorting it until now.

And since I am motivated to get it cleaned out so that we can move in, my mom and I are  doing all of the work.

We’ve made a lot of progress…having a preliminary garage sale this past weekend and an advertised one this coming weekend…

Giving all of the decent furniture to other family members/relatives…

sorting through old family photos and other sentimental notes/cards, etc…

and throwing away an immeasurable amount of junk.

So my days and my nights have been jam packed!

I miss my hubs and I have moments of being overwhelmed

but overall I am loving our new life here.

I think I’ve said it somewhere before… 😉

but change is good.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “So Far Behind!

  1. Congrats on the tri! It’s good to see you back and I can’t wait to hear more about your teaching!

  2. Congratulations on the wonderful accomplishments and changes in your life! 🙂 How exciting! I knew you’d rock the tri!

    So glad that the move and transition back to work have been smooth. I know it can be tough to be without your little one but I know she’s so proud of you! 🙂

  3. Allie

    Congrats on your tri!!! So happy for you with all of the new and exciting things in your life 🙂 I would love to hear about the SOAR program 🙂

  4. Glad you’re doing well in your new location!! And congrats on the tri. That is awesome. You look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

